GIVE MY UNIVERSAL LOVE

tolerance

Image credit: dreamstime.com

Give me my universal love
where my heart will open
like prostitute’s curtain
to every body of winds that swirls nearby.
Give me my universal love
beyond the geography of my body.
Give me my universal love
where my legs can walk
into the continents of your skin
without the race of your minds
and my miseries hashtagged beyond Baga
and my echoes unfurling, past the Euphrates.

Give me my universal love
and then, I will know
I have found a God
which my knees can go down to
in my supplications
the tasbih and rosary have found a conclusion.

Give me my universal love
instead of a drought,
let my tears be semen of rains
dropping on your breasts
and your innards,
and a new world shall grow like cactus.

Give me my universal love
not the swoon of terror
over Hebdo,
not the fire and brimstone from ISIS.
Give me my universal love
and you will stop looking at me
like a hog
                                                   

Salawu Olajide

Ile-Ife

Leave a Reply

