Americana Blues 1

american blue

Walking down the street of York
Eyes flashed from their stunned sockets
Hey yayah, down the street of York
And eyes stunned in sockets
A guy walked about
Out of time out of route

But wait: who told you
Your modernity is the only one?
Yea, who told you it is only your modernity
In the market place of civility?
The world cannot be yours alone
When others also have to own

I wear Africa like a robe
Europe like a shoe
Yea Africa like a robe
Europe like a shoe
I am a confluence of multiple modernities
A single story is too frail for my complexities

Mine are togas of places
Songs and tongues of times
Verily mine, togas of places
Songs and tongue of times
If I like I walk in the agora of Kaaro-oojires
If I wish I could skate about with grace

For this earth my brother
Is variously ours
Say, this earth oh brother!
Is variously yours and mine
My guts can’t just die
Simply for yours to soar and fly

By Taofeeq Adekunle Adebayo 

New York

Leave a Reply

