The Bridport Prize is an International open competition founded in 1973 with over £16,000 in prize money each year. The winning poems, stories and flash fiction are published in a winners anthology in October.

Judges for 2016 are:

Patience Agbabi for poetry (max 42 lines / 1st prize £5,000)

Tessa Hadley for short story (max 5,000 words / 1st prize £5,000)

Tim Stephenson for flash fiction (max 250 words / 1st prize £1,000)

Kerry Young for the Peggy Chapman-Andrews Award for a first novel (max 8,000 words from opening chapters / 1st prize £1,000 plus up to a year’s mentoring from The Literary Consultancy) This category is currently only open to UK based writers

Entry fees:  £8 per flash / £9 per poem / £10 per short story / £20 per novel.

For details of how to submit, as well as terms and conditions, please follow this link.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s