Apply now: African Writer’s Residency Award (AWRA) 2016

Goethe-Institut & Sylt Foundation African Literary Writer’s Residency Award


We are very delighted to have a new partner for our award from this year on. Thanks so much to the Goethe-Institut for the collaboration!

The Sylt Foundation calls all writers of contemporary African literature to apply for the two months African Writer´s Award, offered as part of the Sylt Foundation Residency Programme.

The African Writer´s Residency is awarded anually and offers an Award of a two months residency to writers of African literature, whose work engages with contemporary themes related to Africa and the African diaspora. The Award is open to published (not self-published) writers of poetry, prose, plays and novels by an African writer, whether in Africa or elsewhere, published in the English language or translated into the English language.

The winner will be selected by an experienced and credible selection panel of literary professionals.

The contemporary African writer who wins the award is expected to work on or complete a writing project he/she proposed in her/his application. The residency aims to provide an opportunity for the writer to develop ideas and to do research related to the project.

Previous winner were Mildred Barya (Uganda) in 2015, Nii Parkes (GB/Ghana) in 2014 and Chika Unigwe (Nigeria) in 2013.

Deadline for application submission is 6 pm Thursday, 30th June 2016.

Call for Applications & Application requirements (pdf)

in collaboration with the Goethe-Institut


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s