The 2017 Commonwealth Short Story Prize: Entries Open 1st September 2016

The Prize is awarded for the best piece of unpublished short fiction (2,000–5,000 words) in English written by a citizen of a Commonwealth country.

Regional winners receive £2,500 and the overall winner receives £5,000. Continue reading


Commonwealth Writers

Deadline Wednesday 5 October (11.59pm in any time zone)

We’re inviting writers from islands in the Commonwealth* to submit stories for a new anthology.

 The anthology will include poetry, short stories, and nonfiction – which can include creative non-fiction, memoir, and photo or narrative essays – from an island perspective.  Continue reading


Call for Writers

Deadline: Monday 29 August (11.59pm in any time zone)

adda is Commonwealth Writers’ online gathering of stories, a place where writers and readers can talk to each other across global and geopolitical divides. Continue reading

The Brunel University African Poetry Prize 2016 SHORTLIST Announced


March 2016

The Brunel University African Poetry Prize
in partnership with Commonwealth Writers

This is the fourth year of The Brunel University African Poetry Prize, a major poetry prize of £3000 aimed at the development, celebration and promotion of poetry from Africa. The prize is sponsored by Brunel University London and Commonwealth Writers. It is open to African poets worldwide and each poet has to submit 10 poems to be eligible.

The judges this year are the poets, critics and academics: Kwame Dawes, Tsitsi Jaji, John Keene, Helen Yitah, and Chair and founder, Bernardine Evaristo. Out of a record-breaking 900 entries, the judges came up with a shortlist of ten poets, none of whom has yet published a full length poetry book. Continue reading