The 2017 Commonwealth Short Story Prize: Entries Open 1st September 2016

The Prize is awarded for the best piece of unpublished short fiction (2,000–5,000 words) in English written by a citizen of a Commonwealth country.

Regional winners receive £2,500 and the overall winner receives £5,000. Continue reading


11 Authors shortlisted for $100,000 NLNG sponsored literature prize

The Advisory Board for The Nigeria Prize for Literature, led by Emeritus Professor Ayo Banjo has announced an initial shortlist of eleven books, drawn from 173 books, in the running for the 2016 literature prize.

Continue reading

Lidudumalingani wins seventeenth Caine Prize for African Writing

Caine Prize Head- Award Dinner.jpeg

Lidudumalingani has won the 2016 Caine Prize for African Writing, described as Africa’s leading literary award, for his short story entitled ‘Memories We Lost’ published in Incredible Journey: Stories That Move You (Burnet Media, South Africa, 2015). The Chair of Judges, Delia Jarrett-Macauley, announced Lidudumalingani as the winner of the £10,000 prize at a dinner held this evening (Monday, 4 July) at the Bodleian Library in Oxford. Continue reading

All is Set for Etisalat Prize for Literature Grand Finale


On Saturday, March 19 2016 a winner will emerge in the third edition of the Etisalat Prize for Literature. It is a three-way literary battle on who will win Africa’s most prestigious literature Prize. The shortlisted books are The Story of Anna P, as Told by Herself by South Africa’s Penny Busetto, Tram 83 by Democratic Republic of Congo’s Fiston Mwanza Mujila and What Will People Say? by another South African, Rehana Rossouw. Continue reading

Etisalat Prize: Not a race for Nigerian writers


Nigeria’s dominance of the literary scene in Africa in terms of prizes won is not in doubt. The country has won every available international prize on offer – from the Commonwealth to the Caine, the Booker and the Nobel Prize and more.

But observers have begun to worry over the country’s poor showing in a homegrown literary competition originating from the continent. In its third year in a row since the telecommunication company, Etisalat Nigeria, instituted the pan-African Etisalat Prize for Literature in 2013, Nigeria’s fiction writers have failed to win the prize. Instead East and South African writers have continued to hold the aces. Continue reading





The African Poetry Book Fund, in partnership with the University of Nebraska-Lincoln’s literary journal Prairie Schooner, has named three finalists for this year’s Glenna Luschei Prize for African Poetry.

This year’s finalists are:

-A Book of Rooms by Kobus Moolman (Deep South)

Gumiguru by Togara Muzanenhamo (Carcanet Press)

Now the World Takes These Breaths by Joan Meterlerkamp (Modjaji Books) Continue reading