Brunel University African Poetry Prize 2016 Winners


The Brunel University African Poetry Prize in partnership with Commonwealth Writers

The joint winners of the 2016 Brunel University African Poetry Prize are Gbenga Adesina(Nigeria) and Chekwube O. Danladi (Nigeria).

Continue reading


Call for Submissions: The 2016 Rattle Poetry Prize, $10,000

The annual Rattle Poetry Prize offers $10,000 for a single poem to be published in the winter issue of the magazine. Ten finalists will also receive $200 each and publication, and be eligible for the $2,000 Readers’ Choice Award, to be selected by subscriber and entrant vote. Continue reading

Call for Papers: 32nd Annual National Conference and 2016 IFESAN, Ile-Ife, Nigeria, Deadline: 15 July 2016

English Scholars Association of Nigeria (ESAN) (Formerly NESA)

In collaboration with Department of English, Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife, Osun State, Nigeria


32nd Annual National Conference

50th Anniversary of the Association and 2016 IFESAN

Date: 5 – 8 September , 2016; Venue: Oduduwa Hall, Obafemi Awolowo University Continue reading

Event: Manchester Literature Festival Presents: Marlon James, 27 May 2016, Manchester

Manchester Literature Festival Presents:

Marlon James

27 May 2016, 7pm, Manchester

Photo Credit Jeffrey Skemp Photo Credit Jeffrey Skemp

One of the most exciting voices to emerge from the Caribbean, Marlon James won the 2015 Man Booker Prize with A Brief History of Seven Killings. A fictional account of the attempted assassination of Bob Marley in 1976, A Brief History is an ambitious and exhilarating masterpiece that spans three decades. Narrated in multiple voices including killers, con-men, drug dealers and CIA agents, the story captures the tensions, politics, culture and characters of Jamaica with style and energy.

View original post 83 more words

Winner & Shortlist, Saraba Manuscript Prize (Fiction Category)

The winner and shortlist of the Saraba Manuscript Prize (Fiction Category) have been announced by the judges Rotimi Babatunde, Azafi Omoluabi-Ogosi, and Eghosa Imasuen.

Drawn from a longlist of ten writers, Eboka Chukwudi Peter is the winner of the Prize for his manuscript Mosaic: Stitches of Stories Lived, Stories Learned and Stories Told. The four shortlisted writers are: Continue reading

Osinbajo to Award ‘Small Nobel’ Prize to Writers, Others; Promises Technology Fund, Jobs

Vice President Yemi Osinbajo on Saturday announced plans by his office to promote creativity in the humanities sector by instituting what he termed a “small Nobel” prize for writers and other players in the arts industry.

The vice-president made the disclosure during his keynote address at an event organised by the Covenant Christian Centre tagged ‘The Platform Abuja’ themed, ‘Nigeria in Your Hands’. Continue reading

Apply now: African Writer’s Residency Award (AWRA) 2016

Goethe-Institut & Sylt Foundation African Literary Writer’s Residency Award


We are very delighted to have a new partner for our award from this year on. Thanks so much to the Goethe-Institut for the collaboration!

The Sylt Foundation calls all writers of contemporary African literature to apply for the two months African Writer´s Award, offered as part of the Sylt Foundation Residency Programme.

Continue reading

13 poetic reasons to visit the 2016 Franschhoek Literary Festival

Franschhoek Literary FestivalConceptualised in 2006, the Franschhoek Literary Festival has garnered much attention from poetry enthusiasts. The three-day festival in May will include poetry readings, a competition, discussions and performance poetry. There will be poetry from across the spectrum from well-known poets to new voices and 13 poetry sessions over this autumn weekend in Franschhoek. Continue reading